TOW 13: Viral Video’s, What it is about them?

My question dealing with the topic of viral video’s is, what is it that makes people watch them? What entices us? What exactly makes a video more popular than another? Well that is what I’m covering today. A viral video is defined as, “A viral video is one that becomes popular through the process of internet sharing, typically through video sharing websites and email. Viral videos often contain humorous content and include televised comedy sketches.” This definition comes from Wikipedia.

Obviously, the “what” behind a video is how interesting they are. When they catch the eye of an individual, the objective if striving for popularity numbers is reaching a wide audience. One of my favorite viral video’s can be found at youtube.com and is titled, “David after Dentist.” This video got so many hits, and quickly in the past year became one of the most popular video’s on the website. Why? It’s funny. It’s a video of a father and son, (David) after a trip to David’s dentist. In the video David obviously had some pain medicine, probably laughing gas, and discusses how he feels with his dad in the car after leaving the dentist office. The child is very funny along with the David’s dad.

Video’s such as the one I just mentioned, become popular for their own little reasons and have been mimicked and used for entertainment on shows, such as, Saturday Night Live. There have been cases where people become “semi-famous” through posting a video. Just look at Justin Beiber, the newest hit amongst teen girls.

I’m not exactly sure what the ultimate answer is to what entices people when it comes to viral video’s, but its something interesting to share with a friend or co-worker. When my friends have found something they want me to watch on youtube, they will usually copy the url, and post it to my facebook wall. The topic becomes great conversation, and other friends will watch it as they see a video posted on my wall.

To leave you in this discussion today, I posted one of my favorite viral video’s below. The video clip is of a little girl who is not quite old enough to read, but read’s a book full of kitten pictures based on what these kittens are doing. It’s very funny, and weird at the same time. The video is titled “kittens inspired by kittens.”

3 Comments

Filed under Social Media, Weekly Topics

3 responses to “TOW 13: Viral Video’s, What it is about them?

  1. I have to completely agree with you on why a viral video becomes popular. They have to funny and entincing to people. I also believe one of the other reasons that they spread like wild fire is because friends will post them on people’s facebook wall. From then other people see them and click on them and show them to friends. Result from this: Instant Classic. Though it is the humor that draws people like you and me to youtube videos there is something else that draws others in and like you I can not exactly put my finger on it!

  2. Pingback: PR Comments for PRCA 3030 « Emily's Media Center

  3. Hey Kati Ann, You were actually the first person to show me this video and I still think that it’s hilarious. The little girl obviously loves kittens and I think that her voices are so funny. One comment that I have seen but didn’t think about until I read it in your post was the face that a lot of people try to mimic viral videos and your right about how these videos become popular for their own little reasons. I personally think that the biggest reason is because they are funny and these people are getting their 15 minutes of fame in for sure! -Meghan: April 21

Leave a Reply

